FMU Volleyball faces Bobcats at PBC Tournament

FMU Volleyball faces Bobcats at PBC Tournament

Francis Marion University will face Georgia College in the quarterfinals of the 2017 Peach Belt Conference Volleyball Tournament, Friday (Nov. 17) at 6:30 p.m. on the Bobcat's home court in Milledgeville, Ga.

The FMU/GC contest will be the third of three quarterfinal matches on Friday.  Fifth-seeded Lander University faces fourth-seeded Augusta University at 1:30 p.m. and seventh-seeded UNC Pembroke plays second-seeded USC Aiken at 4 p.m.  Top-seeded Flagler College earned a first-round bye.

Flagler will face the Lander/Augusta winner in the first semifinal match on Saturday (Nov. 18) at 2 p.m., while the FMU/GC winner will face the UNCP/USCA winner at 4:30 p.m.  The tournament championship match is set for Sunday (Nov. 19) at 2 p.m.

Daily admission is $10, with seniors and those with military IDs $5, and children under 10 are free. Students from PBC member schools will be admitted free with a valid school ID.

Live stats and live video can be found at the tournament website at

Under the direction of first-year coach Lauren Baufield, Francis Marion posted a 9-17 mark during the regular season despite fielding a very young squad.  Seven of the 13 team members are freshmen. Four of those first-year players have started double-figure matches and another is the current starting libero.

Junior Carrie McGinnis and freshman Tori Carpenter have handled the setting duties with the two averaging 7.24 and 5.31 assists per set respectively. Junior Georgia Garrison leads FMU in kills per set (2.99) and service aces (30), while sophomore Lenee' Blot heads the team in hitting percentage (.271) and freshman Cortney Bowen leads in blocks per set (0.86). Garrison ranks among the top eight in the PBC for kills, aces, digs, and points per set.

Georgia College (21-6) won the two regular-season meeting with the Patriots: 3-2 in Florence and 3-1 in Milledgeville.  FMU leads the all-time series 7-3.

The Patriots have won the tournament title on three occasions: 2005, 1998, and 1997.