Patriot cagers host Nighthawks in PBC Tournament

Patriot cagers host Nighthawks in PBC Tournament

The Francis Marion University women's basketball team will host only its second-ever Peach Belt Conference Tournament game when the Patriots entertain the University of North Georgia on Saturday (Feb. 25) at 6 p.m.

General admission is $8 for adults and $5 for students.  FMU faculty, staff, and students are admitted free with ID, and Swamp Fox Club passes will be honored. 

The contest will be televised live on Channel 11 of Florence's Time Warner Cable system as well as streamed on the internet at

FMU is the East Division's No.2 seed, while the Nighthawks are the West's No.3 seed. The other three quarterfinal games on Saturday have (W#1) Columbus State University (25-1) hosting (E#4) USC Aiken (14-14) at 1:30 p.m., (E#1) Lander University (22-6) hosting (W#4) Georgia College (15-11) at 1:30 p.m., and (W#2) Clayton State University (23-5) hosting (E#3) UNC Pembroke (16-10) at 3:30 p.m.

The semifinals and finals will be played at the site of the highest remaining seed from the East Division after quarterfinal play.  In other words, if Lander wins its quarterfinal game, the Bearcats would host the Final Four.  If Lander was to lose and Francis Marion beat North Georgia, the Patriots would host the semifinals and finals.

The FMU/UNG winner will meet the Columbus State/USCA winner in the semifinals on March 4.

FMU sophomore Shaunice Fulmore and North Georgia senior forward Kelsey Hutchins are tied for second in the conference in scoring at 16.9 points per game.

Two other Patriots are scoring in double figures: junior guard Khai Chandler (13.1 ppg) and junior forward Briana Burgins (12.6 ppg, 7.8 rpg).  Senior guard TeTe Flowers in third in the conference in assists at 5.9 per contest.

In the two teams' previous meeting this season in Florence, North Georgia rallied from a six-point fourth-quarter deficit to win 63-59.  UNG leads the all-time series 11-8.

The Francis Marion women are in the PBC Tournament for the second straight year and own an all-time tournament mark of 17-19.  The Patriots won the 1998 title and lost in the championship game in both 2006 and 2010.  The only previous tournament game hosted by the Patriots was a 75-64 victory over USC Aiken in 2010.