Patriots host PBC Tennis Tournaments starting Friday

Patriots host PBC Tennis Tournaments starting Friday

The 2019 Peach Belt Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Tournaments will be held Friday through Sunday (April 19-21) at the Dr. Eddie Floyd/Florence Tennis Center.  Admission to the three-day single-elimination event is free. This is the seventh consecutive year Francis Marion University has served as the host institution.


The four men's quarterfinal matches will be played on Friday (April 19) at 9 a.m., followed by the four women's quarterfinal matches at 12 p.m.

The men's semifinal matches will start at 9 a.m. on Saturday morning (April 20), followed at 12 p.m. by the women's semifinal matches.  The men's championship match is set for Sunday morning (April 21) at 9 a.m., with the women's championship to follow at 12 p.m.

The 32nd-ranked Francis Marion men's team is 10-9 and will face top-seeded and top-ranked Columbus State University (20-2) in the quarterfinals on Friday at 9 a.m.  The Patriot women (14-7) will face third-seeded and 10th-ranked University of North Georgia (17-4) on Friday at 12 p.m.

The Patriot men's probable singles lineup consists of sophomore Matt Astell (7-11) at No.1, sophomore William Anth-Forsberg (4-13) at No.2, junior Matheo Espinoza (3-8) at No.3, junior Mauricio Guerrero (9-8) at No.4, freshman Brandon Sweeney (8-6) at No.5, and junior Henri Broeseler (2-3) at No.6.  The doubles pairings will be Anth-Forsberg and sophomore Charles Hutchings (9-7) at No.1, Espinoza and Guerrero (11-8) at No.2, and Sweeney and Astell (9-6) at No.3.  The duo of Anth-Forsberg and Hutchings is ranked 17th in the latest ITA national listings.

The probable singles lineup for the FMU women will be sophomore Fredrika Regner (12-7) at No.1, freshman Denise Hartmann (6-13) at No.2, sophomore Elisa Lang (11-8) at No.3, freshman Eva Zannier (12-7) at No.4, sophomore Nikita Berger (14-6) at No.5, and sophomore Lesshika Vala (12-6) at No.6.  The doubles pairings will be Regner and Lang (6-5) at No.1, Vala and junior Magan Head (5-3) at No.2, and Hartmann and Zannier (3-3) at No.3.

All eight squads in the men's draw are nationally ranked, while the women's draw features five teams ranked in the latest Oracle/ITA national poll.  The men's event will feature 15 of the Top-75 singles players in the country for Division II, and 10 of the Top-50 doubles teams. The women's tournament includes 11 ranked singles players and six ranked doubles duos.

Columbus State is the two-time defending champion of both tournaments, and the Cougar men are the reigning NCAA Division II national champions.  The Peach Belt has produced 12 men's tennis NCAA Division II national champions and eight women's national champions since the conference was organized in 1992.


2019 Peach Belt Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Tournaments

Friday, April 19
9 am - Match 1           Men's Quarterfinal                  #1 Columbus State vs. #8 Francis Marion             
9 am - Match 2           Men's Quarterfinal                  #4 Lander vs. #5 North Georgia   
9 am - Match 3           Men's Quarterfinal                  #3 Flagler vs. #6 Georgia College    
9 am - Match 4           Men's Quarterfinal                  #2 USC Aiken vs. #7 Augusta
12 pm - Match 5         Women's Quarterfinal             #1 Columbus State vs. #8 Lander
12 pm - Match 6         Women's Quarterfinal             #4 USC Aiken vs. #5 Georgia College
12 pm - Match 7         Women's Quarterfinal             #3 North Georgia vs. #6 Francis Marion

12 pm - Match 8         Women's Quarterfinal             #2 Flagler vs. #7 Augusta

Saturday, April 20
9 am - Match 9           Men's Semifinal                      Match 1 vs Match 2 winners
9 am - Match 10         Men's Semifinal                      Match 3 vs Match 4 winners

12 pm - Match 11       Women's Semifinal                 Match 5 vs Match 6 winners
12 pm - Match 12       Women's Semifinal                 Match 7 vs Match 8 winners

Sunday, April 21
9 am - Match 13         Men's Championship              Match 9 vs. Match 10 winners

12 pm - Match 14       Women's Championship         Match 11 vs. Match 12 winners

(seedings are in parenthesis)