Roettlingsberger and Thevenaz named PBC All-Academic

Roettlingsberger and Thevenaz named PBC All-Academic

Francis Marion University senior Jannik Roettlingsberger and sophomore Tarass Thevenaz have been named to the 2017 Peach Belt Conference Men's Tennis All-Academic Team.

Roettlingsberger, a native of Marl, Germany, earns the honor for the third consecutive year.

A supply chain management major, Roettlingsberger has compiled a 3.83 grade point average.  He is four-year letterman, was named an ITA Scholar-Athlete each of the past three years, and has been selected to the PBC Presidential Honor Roll three times and FMU Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic Honor Roll all seven of his semesters.  At last year's PBC Tournament, he was presented the Elite 15 Award.

He is a member Beta Gamma Sigma, Chi Alpha Sigma, and Phi Kappa Phi honor societies, and served on FMU's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee this past year.  He has twice received D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards and at the 2016 FMU Academic Awards Day ceremony was presented the General Business Administration Award.

On the court in 2017, Roettlingsberger posted a 10-6 singles record and a 9-7 doubles mark.

Thevenaz, a native of Le Landeron, Switzerland, has a 3.72 GPA as a general business major.

A two-year letterman, he was named an ITA Scholar-Athlete in 2016, was named to the PBC Presidential Honor Roll as a freshman, and has earned FMU Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic Honor Roll recognition all three of his semesters.

On the court this season, he registered a 7-9 singles record and an 8-8 doubles mark.

Francis Marion ended its 2017 season with a 7-9 mark.

The All-Academic team is part of a season-long program recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of PBC student-athletes in the classroom as well as on the field of play. To be eligible for the All-Academic team, a student-athlete must participate in at least half of his team's events and be either a starter or significant contributor, achieve a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale), and have completed at least one full academic year at his current institution.

Founded in 1991, the Peach Belt consists of 14 member institutions in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Alabama.  In its short history, the conference boasts 36 NCAA Division II national championships.


 Jannik Roettlingsberger            Tarass Thevenaz