Patriot trio earns PBC soccer academic honors

Patriot trio earns PBC soccer academic honors

Francis Marion University senior midfielder and defender Harrison Smith, junior forward Levin Sandmann, and sophomore defender Matthew Bainbridge have been named to the 2017 Peach Belt Conference Men's Soccer All-Academic Team. Smith earns the honor for the third consecutive year.

Smith, a native of Hartlepool, England, is majoring in history, with a minor in physics, and has a 3.44 grade point average. Despite being hampered by injuries, he played in 11 matches this season and registered 10 shots and two goals scored.

He is serving on the university's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) for the third time, and is a member of Phi Alpha Theta, Omicron Delta Kappa, and Chi Alpha Sigma honor societies.  He was named to the Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll each of his first three years, and was selected to the FMU Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic Honor Roll each of his first six semesters.

Sandmann hails from Heidelberg, Germany, and has a 3.46 GPA as a business economics major. The 2016 PBC Player of the Year, he started all 15 matches this season and recorded team-high totals of 10 goals, 24 points, two game-winning goals, and 45 shots.  He also assisted on four scores. His career total of 33 goals scored is the highest for a Patriot in 17 seasons.

He was named to the PBC Presidential Honor Roll in both 2017 and 2016 and has earned FMU Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic Honor Roll recognition four times.

Bainbridge is from Liverpool, England, and has a 3.86 GPA as a general business major.  On the field, he appeared in 12 contests and helped anchor a defense that registered a 2.10 goals against average.

He was named to both the PBC Presidential and FMU Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic honor rolls during his freshman year.

Francis Marion finished its 2017 campaign with a 6-9-0 record.

To be eligible for the All-Academic program, a student-athlete must participate in at least half of the team's events and be either a starter or significant contributor; have achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale), and have completed at least one full academic year at their current institution. This year's honor roll included 35 players from eight schools.

Smith is a product of English Martyrs; Sandmann is a graduate of Bunseu Gymnasium; and Bainbridge is a product of St. Francis Xavier College.

      Harrison Smith                   Levin Sandmann            Matthew Bainbridge