FMU set to host PBC Baseball Tournament

FMU set to host PBC Baseball Tournament

For the second year in a row, Francis Marion University is set to host the Peach Belt Conference Baseball Tournament, May 10-13, on Cormell Field at Sparrow Stadium. Games will kick-off on Wednesday morning (May 10) and conclude with the championship game on Saturday, May 13.

Daily general admission tickets will be $8 for adults and $5 for senior citizens, children under 12, military members, and faculty and staff of PBC-member schools. Students of all PBC institutions will be admitted free with a valid ID from their school.  PBC All-Sports passes will be accepted with a valid photo ID.

The PBC Tournament will return to the eight-team double-elimination format used from 2011-13 and utilized at the NCAA Division II World Series. 

Play will begin on Wednesday with third-seeded Georgia College playing sixth-seeded Flagler College at 10 a.m. Second-seeded USC Aiken will play seventh-seeded Lander University at 1:30 p.m., followed by top-seeded University of North Georgia playing eighth-seeded Georgia Southwestern State University at 5 p.m. and fourth-seeded Columbus State University meeting fifth-seeded UNC Pembroke at 8:30 p.m.

Thursday's action will include a pair of elimination games at 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. and two winners' bracket contests at 1:30 p.m. and 8:30 p.m.  Four games will also be played on Friday at 10 a.m., 1:30 p.m., 5 p.m., and 8:30 p.m.  Saturday's game times will be determined by how many squads remain alive after Friday's play.

The tournament winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Division II National Tournament.

Columbus State is the defending tournament champion.

Francis Marion is a smoke-free campus and no pets or outside food is allowed within the confines of the Griffin Athletic Complex. 

2017 Peach Belt Conference Baseball Tournament Schedule at FMU
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
10:00 am        GAME 1         #6 Flagler College vs. #3 Georgia College
1:30 pm          GAME 2         #7 Lander University  vs. #2 USC Aiken
5:00 pm          GAME 3         #8 Georgia Southwestern State Univ. vs. #1 Univ. of North Georgia
8:30 pm          GAME 4         #5 UNC Pembroke vs. #4 Columbus State University
Thursday, May 11, 2017
10:00 am        GAME 5         Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser
1:30 pm          GAME 7         Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner
5:00 pm          GAME 6         Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser
8:30 pm          GAME 8         Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner


Friday, May 12, 2017
10:00 am        GAME 9         Game 5 Winner vs. Game 7 Loser
1:30 pm          GAME 10       Game 6 Winner vs. Game 8 Loser
5:00 pm          GAME 11       Game 8 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner
8:30 pm          GAME 12       Game 7 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner
Saturday, May 13, 2017
Game Times yet to be determined