Francis Marion University Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee at Francis Marion University is comprised of two members from each sponsored intercollegiate sport, the designated athletic administrator, and a student from the athletic training staff.  Student-athletes are nominated by their respective head coach.  These nominations are forwarded to the Director of Athletics for final approval.  Committee members are selected based upon their leadership potential, their academic and athletic success, and their willingness to serve their fellow student-athletes for the advancement of their sport as well as the entire athletics program.  Committee members will serve one full year and may be re-nominated by their coach.  Committee members are expected to take their responsibility seriously, attend the meetings on a regular basis, and be an active participant.  Committee members should be knowledgeable not only of their sport, but also of the other sports sponsored by the University and also be willing to learn about the overall operations of our intercollegiate athletics program.

Committee members should always hold themselves to a high standard and should always emphasize academic success, character, citizenship, and sportsmanship.  Any committee member that fails to uphold the high standard of this position will be asked to resign and be replaced by another student-athlete from that respective sport. Although there will be no restrictions on the discussions held at the meetings, with the exception of personnel matters or other matters that deal directly with an individual student-athlete, the meetings should always be focused on what the committee can do to improve the intercollegiate experience of our student-athletes and to assist with the success of our total sports program.

The committee will meet a minimum of two times a semester and more often if needed.   The chair, in consultation with the designated athletic administrator, will set the meeting dates and times. The committee reports to the Director of Athletics. (8-12)

One of the main projects for the organization is the Make-A-Wish Foundation.


2017-18 Francis Marion University Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)

Detrek Browning, Men's Basketball
Warren Specht, Men's Basketball
Georgia Garrison, Volleyball
Shelbi Meek, Volleyball
Brooks Kennedy, Baseball
Cole Hinnant, Baseball
Breanna Henderson, Women's Soccer
Jessica Garnett, Women's Soccer  
Briana Burgins, Women's Basketball    
Lauryn Bush, Women's Basketball    
Mauricio Guerrero, Men's Tennis
William Anth-Forsberg, Men's Tennis
Sofia Henning, Women's Tennis
Anna Wintrich, Women's Tennis
Michael Dmytruck, Men's Soccer
Harrison Smith, Men's Soccer
Jasmine Watson, Women's Cross Country
MacKenzie Arnold, Women's Cross Country
Devin Nelson, Men's Cross Country
Jonathan Reid, Men's Cross Country
Sidney Holland, Softball
Chelsea Welty, Softball
Marc Casullo, Golf
Haakon Andersen, Golf

Advisior: Murray Hartzler, FMU athletic director