FMU places 30 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards list

FMU places 30 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards list

The NCAA Division II Athletics Directors Association recently announced its annual list of recipients for the 2018 Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards – a list that includes 30 student-athletes from Francis Marion University.

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

One-hundred-and-sixty-five institutions participated in the 2017-18 awards program and 10,219 student-athletes were recognized. This list included 296 student-athletes from Peach Belt Conference schools. The 30 Patriot honorees represented 12 different sports.

The FMU student-athletes included on the list are baseball players Tee DuBose (Sumter, SC), CJ Mackinson (Sykesville, MD), Arien Seymour (Nassau, Bahamas), and Nicky Winterstein (Columbia, SC); men's cross country and track runners Javier Bustos Jaimes (Eagle Springs, NC), Devin Nelson (Bloomfield, CT), and Carlos Oliver (Belton, SC); women's cross country and track runners MacKenzie Arnold (Murrells Inlet, SC), Emma Driggers (Mauldin, SC), and Jasmine Watson (Florence, SC); men's soccer players Matthew Bainbridge (Liverpool, England), Julian Kersting (Varel, Germany), Levin Sandmann (Heidelberg, Germany), Harrison Smith (Hartlepool, England), and Matthew Wehrly (Sanford, NC); and women's soccer players Sierra Cartano (Raleigh, NC), Amanda Eckard (Clayton, NC), Jessica Garnett (Rock Hill, SC), Carli Gauthier (Lutz, FL), and Micahla Kitchen (West End, NC).

Also, softball players Shania Domingue (York, SC), Sydney Holland (Statesville, NC), and Chelsea Welty (St. Helena, SC); women's tennis players Sofia Henning (Gothenburg, Sweden), Marie Krueger (Leverkusen, Germany), and Anna Wintrich (Wadern, Germany); men's tennis player Mauricio Guerrero (Mexico City, Mexico); women's basketball player Brooke Dixon (Camden, SC); and volleyball players Georgia Garrison (Trinity, NC) and Carrie McGinnis (Knoxville, TN).

Seymour, Bustos Jaimes, Nelson, and Henning are three-time recipients of the award. DuBose, Oliver, Arnold, Welty, Krueger, Wintrich, and Garrison receive the honor for the second year in a row.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) and have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters).