9 FMU Student-Athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma honor society

9 FMU Student-Athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma honor society

Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced the names of nine Patriot student-athletes named to the university's chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society.

To earn a place in this honor society, a student-athlete must be at least a junior academically, have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average on a 4.00 scale, and have an endorsement from his or her respective head coach.  The nominees are then screened by a selection committee.

The 2018 inductees are baseball catcher William Robbins (Rock Hill, SC); men's cross country and track and field athlete Carlos Oliver (Belton, SC); men's soccer players Michael Dmytruk (Orlando, FL) and Levin Sandmann (Heidelberg, Germany); women's cross country and track and field athlete Emma Driggers (Mauldin, SC); women's soccer goalie Janine Gordon (Miami, FL); softball second baseman Jennie Polak (Quincy, IL); and volleyball players Georgia Garrison (Trinity, NC) and Carrie McGinnis (Knoxville, TN).

Sixteen current Patriot student-athletes were previously inducted: baseball designated hitter Tee DuBose (Sumter, SC) and left-handed pitcher Arien Seymour (Nassau, Bahamas); women's basketball player Brooke Dixon (Camden, SC); men's cross country and track and field athletes Javier Bustos Jaimes (Eagle Springs, NC) and Devin Nelson (Bloomfield, CT); women's cross country and track and field athlete MacKenzie Arnold (Murrells Inlet, SC); and golfers Alessandro Caselli (Vimercate, Italy), Marc Casullo (Aurora, Ontario, Canada), and Lars Sandvoll (Bergen, Norway).

Also, men's soccer player Harrison Smith (Hartlepool, England); women's soccer player Melina Much (Valley Center, CA); softball shortstop Taylor Johnson (San Diego, CA) and catcher Chelsea Welty (St. Helena, SC); and women's tennis players Sofia Henning (Gothenburg, Sweden), Marie Krueger (Leverkusen, Germany), and Anna Wintrich (Wadern, Germany).

Chi Alpha Sigma was founded in May 1996 by DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis.  The organization currently has 284 chapters in 42 states and the District of Columbia.  Francis Marion is one of only eight chapters in South Carolina, and FMU was the first school to have a chapter in the Palmetto State.

Over the past 18 years, 184 different FMU student-athletes have earned this honor.

Chi Alpha Sigma's purposes are: to encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited institutions; to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letterwinners; to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics; to recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university; and to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.