FMU places 15 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards list

FMU places 15 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards list

The NCAA Division II Athletics Directors Association recently announced its annual list of recipients for the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards – a list that includes 15 student-athletes from Francis Marion University.

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

A record 118 institutions participated in the 2011-12 awards program and a record 4,492 student-athletes were recognized.  The 15 Patriot honorees represented seven different sports.

The FMU student-athletes included on the list are baseball players Addison Dunn (Warren, PA), Dalton Gress (Aiken, SC), and Buddy Sosnoskie (Statesville, NC): men's soccer player Chuy Cruz (Austin, TX); men's cross country runner Ryan Woloszyn (Taylors, SC); and women's cross country runner London Barnhill (Hemingway, SC).

Also softball players Tristan Faile (Lancaster, SC), Olivia Ferguson (Roanoke, VA), Carson Summersett (Florence, SC), and Olivia   Zielinski (Greenville, SC); women's tennis players Mona Blauen (Cologne, Germany) and Kerry Hall (Westville, Natal, South Africa); and volleyball players Amanda Mitchell (Farragut, TN), Danielle Parker (Lockwood, MO), and Paige Perreault (Kankakee, IL).

Mitchell earns this honor for the third straight year, while Gress, Cruz, Faile, Ferguson, Blauen, Hall, and Parker are two-time honorees.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) and have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters).