Patriots earn ODK honors

Patriots earn ODK honors

Fifteen Francis Marion University students, including eight Patriot student-athletes, and two faculty and staff members were recently initiated into Omicron Delta Kappa during an April 2014 ceremony.

A national leadership honor society, Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; social service and religious activities; campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and creative and performing arts.

The student-atheletes to earn this honor are golfers Lukas Crisp (Gothenburg, Sweden) and John Michael Schaffer (Sumter, SC); women's basketball player Dee Gray (Chicago, IL); men's tennis player Tim Ruepke (Bremen, Germany);women's tennis player Caitlin Siney (Harare, Zimbabwe); and volleyball players Jessica Imbimbo (Hudson, FL), Paige Perreault (Kankakee, IL), and Emily Sears (Ashburn, VA).

To be eligible for induction, a student must must be in the upper 35 percent of his/her class academically and have attained special distinction in at least one of the five phases of collegiate activity emphasized by ODK:  (1) scholarship; (2) athletics; (3) campus or community service, social, religious activities, and campus government; (4) journalism, speech, and the mass media; (5) creative and performing arts.  The student must be a junior, senior, or graduate student.

To learn more about Omicron Delta Kappa, go to .