17 Student-Athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma

17 Student-Athletes named to Chi Alpha Sigma
Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced the names of 17 Patriot student-athletes named to the university’s chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society.

To earn a place in this honor society, a student-athlete must be at least a junior, have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average on a 4.00 scale, and have an endorsement from his or her respective head coach.  The nominees are then screened by a selection committee.

The 2014 inductees are baseball players Chance DuCharme (Kill Devil Hills, N.C.) and Ben Keane (Charleston, S.C.); women’s basketball players Cy’erra Mills (Burnsville, Minn.) and Lauren Woods (Raleigh, N.C.); golfers Lukas Crisp (Gothensburg, Sweden), John Lurie Pate (Coward, S.C.), and John Michael Schaffer (Sumter, S.C.); and men’s soccer players Tom Gillette (London, England), Benjamin Kwast (Warren, Germany), and Pascal Magiera (Hemmingen, Germany).

Also, women’s soccer players Chanel Harris (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) and Arianna Pierner (North Augusta, S.C.);  softball player Chessie Miller (Little Rock, S.C.); men’s tennis players Luke Bateup (Beckenham, England), Eimon Heywood (Huddersfield, England), and Marius Wahlier (Cologne, Germany); and volleyball player Emily Sears (Ashburn, Va.).

Eleven current Patriot student-athletes were previously inducted: baseball player Dalton Gress (Aiken, S.C.), men’s basketball player Tyler Deihl (Woodstock, Ga.), women’s cross country runner London Barnhill (Hemingway, SC), men’s tennis player Tim Ruepke (Bremen, Germany), softball players Kristie Hanewinckel (Dunnellon, Fla.) and Olivia Zielinski (Greenville, S.C.), volleyball players Jessica Imbimbo (Hudson, Fla.) and Paige Perreault (Kankakee, Ill.), and women’s soccer players Yasmin Bunter (Fleet, England), Kristina Marra (Toronto, Ontario, Canada), and Brittney Smith (Arkport, N.Y.).

Chi Alpha Sigma was founded in May 1996 by DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis.  The organization currently has more than 270 chapters in 40 states.  Francis Marion is one of only seven chapters in South Carolina, and FMU was the first school to have a chapter in the Palmetto State.

Over the past 14 years, 140 different FMU student-athletes have earned this honor.

Chi Alpha Sigma's purposes are: to encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited institutions; to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letterwinners; to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics; to recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university; and to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.