14 Patriots inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma

14 Patriots inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma

Like Francis Marion Athletics on Facebook!

Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced the names of 14 Patriot student-athletes named to the university’s chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society.

To earn a place in this honor society, a student-athlete must be at least a junior, have a 3.40 cumulative grade point average on a 4.00 scale, and have an endorsement from his or her respective head coach.  The nominees are then screened by a selection committee.

The 2012 inductees are baseball players Addison Dunn (Warren Pa.), Dalton Gress (Aiken, S.C.), golfers Sebastian Backlund (Bollebygd, Sweden) and Travis Gantt (Greenwood, S.C.), volleyball players Liz Drewry (Richmond, Va.) and Hallie Legg (North Canton, Ohio), women’s tennis players Mona Blauen (Cologne, Germany) and Kerry Hall (Westville, Natal), women’s soccer players Megan Ogiltree (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) and Lauren Vetock (Pasadena, Md.), softball players Tristan Faile (Lancaster, S.C.) and Olivia Ferguson (Roanoke, Va.), women’s cross country runner Samantha Smith (Lexington, S.C.) and men’s cross country runner Ryan Woloszyn (Taylors, S.C.).

Six current Patriot student-athletes were previously inducted: baseball player Buddy Sosnoskie (Statesville, N.C.), men’s basketball player Andrew Smith (South Milwaukee, Wis.), men’s soccer player Chuy Cruz (Austin, Texas), women’s tennis player Jitka Gavdunova (Vejprty, Czech Republic), and volleyball players Amanda Mitchell (Farragut, Tenn.) and Danielle Parker (Lockwood, Mo.).

Chi Alpha Sigma was founded in May 1996 by DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis.  The organization currently has 222 chapters in 40 states.  Francis Marion is one of only seven chapters in South Carolina, and FMU was the first school to have a chapter in the Palmetto State.

Over the past 12 years, 113 different FMU student-athletes have earned this honor.

Chi Alpha Sigma's purposes are: to encourage and reward high academic scholarship of college athletes at four-year accredited institutions; to recognize outstanding academic achievement by intercollegiate varsity letterwinners; to encourage good citizenship, moral character, and friendship among the high academic achievers in college athletics; to recognize and honor the individual athlete, his/her team, sport, athletic department, and college or university; and to mentor and to provide leadership to other athletes.